Find a San Diego DUI Attorney
A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge is a serious offence regardless of whether it is for alcohol intoxication or other drugs. A DUI charge can affect your mobility, your profession, car insurance, relationships, and may even result in jail or prison. If you are charged with a DUI in San Diego County, it is imperative that you contact a San Diego DUI attorney who can help you protect your rights and get fair treatment under the law.
Penalties under a DUI conviction can include: the loss of drivers license and insurance, vehicle impounded, probation or parole, large fines, jail time, community service, license suspension or revocation, court ordered rehab, and more.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with a DUI in San Diego County, contact us to connect with a San Diego DUI attorney who will aggressively fight for your rights. You can contact An Attorney for You 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to be matched with a San Diego DUI attorney for a free case review.
Two cases for a DUI: The DMV Case and the Criminal Case
For every DUI case in San Diego, or all of California, there are essentially two cases. There is the DMV case (Department of Motor Vehicles) where you may lose your drivers license. And, there is the criminal case that can result in expensive fines, jail time, rehab, loss of vehicle, community service, or more. Its important you locate a San Diego DUI attorney who will assist you with both your criminal and DMV proceedings.
The DMV case is very different from the criminal case. When you have been arrested for a DUI in San Diego or any other California county, you need to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of the date of your arrest. Failure to do so will result in an automatic suspension of your license or it will be automatically revoked after 30 days. Because the DMV hearings are technical and the documentation given to a person arrested for a DUI may be confusing, the chances of winning without a San Diego DUI attorney are low.
The San Diego Criminal DUI case
In addition to the DMV hearing, the person accused of the DUI in San Diego has to face the criminal proceeding in San Diego court.
Laws surrounding the penalties for a DUI conviction are complicated and set forth by statute. There are a basic range of DUI sentences, and modifications can be added if you have had a prior DUI conviction in the last seven years, were driving recklessly or speeding at the time, had a minor in the vehicle, had a BAC over 0.20%, or refusal to submit to testing.
Your San Diego DUI defense attorney must be knowledgeable about constitutional law, administrative law, and be skilled in the courtroom.
If you choose to submit to a breath test, remember that unlike a blood sample, the breath sample cannot be preserved. And many consider the breath test to be unreliable. Your blood sample can be kept and tested later to ensure whether or not the police followed proper procedure and chains of custody, and tested again against a new sample of your blood to make sure the right person’s blood was analyzed by the police.
Find a San Diego County DUI attorney
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge in San Diego County, An Attorney for You can help you find a San Diego DUI attorney who will consult with you about your DUI case free of charge. Having an experienced San Diego DUI attorney is important so you can fight to preserve your freedom, finances, and license.
Copyright Calliope Media, Inc. © 2011 --- All Rights Reserved.